?

Log in

 
 
07 August 2008 @ 08:09 am
An Introductory Post for Moderated Membership Communities  
I do post here, but not as often as I would like. Between DS, husband, house, friends, and job, I find myself with not as much time to do the things that I would like to do.

Who I am: 31-year-old mother to Jackson, wife to Jamie, friend to many, adjunct instructor of English at a local university, scrapbooker, cook, pop culture nerd, football fan, avid reader, Gilmore Girls nut, and more, I'm sure.

What I do: I teach English at the university level and love it! It doesn't feel like work (except the grading -- that's work). I hope to get my Ph.D. someday, maybe trying to focus my studies on comics as literature.

I am also a housewife extraordinaire. In addition to teaching part-time, I am a domestic goddess, fulfilling roles such as that of my son's primary caregiver for the majority of his life and amateur chef extraordinaire. We are currently following a South Beach lifestyle so I have been trying to adapt recipes to follow the guidelines Dr. Agaston set in his South Beach books.

Where I am: Huntsville/Madison, Alabama area. I have lived in Alabama all of my life and look forward to the day when I can cross its borders and live elsewhere.

Why I am here: I got on LiveJournal when I was working as a technical writer and, four years later, have not left. I prefer this to Facebook and MySpace even though I have both.

I hope this bit of insight will help mods as I apply for various closed communities.